Home Sports news SA vs IND: Mohammed Siraj wins Impact fielder medal as India continue...

SA vs IND: Mohammed Siraj wins Impact fielder medal as India continue ceremony after ODI World Cup

India fast-bowler Mohammed Siraj was presented with the Impact Fielder medal by fielding coach T Dilip after their 106-run win over South Africa at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg.

SA vs IND, 3rd T20I Scorecard

The three-match T20I series ended in a 1-1 draw after the first match got washed off due to excessive rain and South Africa came out on top by 5 wickets in the second one.

Speaking after the match, Dilip spoke to the players in the dressing room, confirming that the team would continue with the tradition of giving away fielding medals. However, there would be one change to this ceremony as the medals would be given out after every series rather than after every game like in the recently-concluded ODI World Cup. The new medal would now be given out to the ‘Impact Fielder of the Series. 

Dilip then listed out the three contenders for the medal, starting off with Rinku Singh, hailing his “effort and awareness” on the field. He then named opener Yashasvi Jaiswal as the second contender, saying he’s been “taking crucial catches by being at the right positions and right places.”

He then named Siraj as the third contender for the award, lauding his “amazing skillset despite being a fast-bowler.” Finally, Dilip presented the medal to Siraj, saying he is still fielding with the same perseverance as he was at the ODI World Cup.

“We talk about making a difference not just in one match but throughout the series. The perseverance with which he was going through the World Cup is still there. Every time he bowls, he comes back and dives and throws the ball. Today he made the difference in the field with the direct hit. Earlier, it was with his boundary line fielding,” said Dilip while presenting the medal to Siraj.

Upon receiving the medal, Siraj said he was “waiting for this medal since the World Cup and now he’s won it, which shows that one should never give in.”

Following the T20I series, India will take on the Proteas in a three-match ODI series, starting Sunday, December 17.