Home Sports news SA v IND, 3rd T20I: Gautam Gambhir surprised by Ravi Bishnoi's absence,...

SA v IND, 3rd T20I: Gautam Gambhir surprised by Ravi Bishnoi's absence, jokes about 'Player of Series' award

Former India opener Gautam Gambhir questioned India’s team selection for the 3rd T20I against South Africa at the New Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg on Thursday, December 14. The newly-appointed Kolkata Knight Riders mentor said he was surprised that Ravi Bishnoi did not get a game in the 3rd and final T20I despite having won the Player of the Series award in the pervious T20I series against Australia at home earlier in the month. | SA vs IND, 3rd T20I Scorecard |

India retained faith in their playing XI as captain Suryakumar Yadav named an unchanged side for the must-win game in Johannesburg. India picked a 17-member squad for the 3-match series in South Africa and they were not able to test the bench strength much as the first T20I in Durban was washed out without a ball being bowled. In the 2nd T20I, Inida picked Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav as their spinners after the two stars returned from their extended break after the World Cup 2023 campaign.

SA vs IND, 3rd T20I Updates

Despite the bowlers not living up to expectations in the 2nd T20I wherein South Africa successfully chased down 152 in less than 14 overs in another rain-affected game, India did not make any changes to their bowling line-up.

“Probably, yes Ravi Bishnoi for one of the fast bowlers, definitely (any changes you wanted to see?)” Gambhir told Star Sports on Thursday.

“You have got a left-arm wrist-spinner and a right-arm wrist spinner. That could have been a great attacking option. I am bit surprised that they have gone with the same playing XI,” he added.

“Who is your best bet to take wickets in the powerplay? It has to be your leg-spinner. It can’t be fast bowlers against this kind of batting line-up. And that also in conditions like Johannesburg. Definitely a bit of surprise there with Bishnoi not playing.

“You should never become the Player of the Series (laughs). That’s the first criteria for getting dropped,” Gambhir said.

Sanjay Manjrekar, who was on air with Gambhir, also highlighted that Ishan Kishan was dropped right after he scored his ODI double hundred last year.

SA vs IND, 3rd T20I Team News

India (Playing XI) – Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Arshdeep Singh, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar.

South Africa (Playing XI) – Reeza Hendricks, Matthew Breetzke, Aiden Markram (C), Heinrich Klaasen (WK), David Miller, Donovan Ferreira (In place of Tristan Stubbs), Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj ((In place of Marco Jansen), Lizaad Williams, Nandre Burger (On Debut, in place of Gerald Coetzee), Tabraiz Shamsi.

South Africa, on the other hand, made 3 changes, handing a debut to left-arm pacer Nandre Burger. Captain Aiden Markram confirmed that Marco Jansen and Gerland Coetzee were released to play some domestic cricket. South Africa brought in Keshav Maharaj and replaced Tristan Stubbs with Donovan Ferreira.